Bishop Leibold School Receives

2012 Governor’s Thomas Edison Awards

for Excellence in STEM Education

The Ohio Academy of Science selected Bishop Leibold School and seven of its teachers to receive The Governor's Thomas Edison Award for Excellence in STEM Education in the 2011-2012 school year.

The Ohio Academy of Science selected 62 Ohio schools for this award in September of 2012: •Twelve Ohio schools achieved the highest average score of ten points; Bishop Leibold was one of only two Dayton-area grade schools to do so. •Bishop Leibold was one of four Archdiocese of Cincinnati schools to score the maximum (along with Carroll, Lehman and McNicholas High Schools). •Bishop Leibold was the only Archdiocese of Cincinnati grade school with a score of ten.

Bishop Leibold teachers Beth Allaire, Ann Bale, Becky Cornett, Melissa Cox, Joyce Kerschner, Jill Klimaski, and Roseann Place were recognized for their roles in advancing STEM education.

"It is nice to receive an accolade acknowledging the fine educational work and programming that takes place in our school," said Principal Paul Beyerle. "Our science and math teachers should be commended for their outstanding instructional practices, dedication to their subjects and desire to provide meaningful learning experiences in their classrooms. Students at Bishop Leibold School have great opportunities to develop their innate desire to discover and learn."

To receive the award, schools had (1) to conduct a local science fair with 20 or more students, (2) qualify one or more of these students for one of the Academy's 15 district science days, (3) have students participate in at least one more youth science opportunity beyond the classroom such as State Science Day, visits to museums, mentorship programs and extended field trips and (4) convince external reviewers from business and industry, government and academia how and to what extent the school’s program met the Academy’s definition of STEM education. Included in the science activities in which Bishop Leibold School regularly participates are a partnership with COSI, the Columbus-based science museum; ScienceF.E.S.T., the annual free evening of experimentation and exploration; and QUEST, the afterschool Math and Science Enrichment Program for grades 4-8. The school also sponsors a Summer Science Camp for area students in grades 1-3, and a Robotics Camp for students in grades 4-6.

"Receiving a Governor's Thomas Edison Award for Excellence sends a clear signal that these schools and teachers value student-originated, inquiry-based science and technology education as envisioned for the Next-Generation Science Education Standards being developed nationally," said Dr. Lynn E. Elfner, the Academy's CEO. "Whole new worlds of opportunities open up to students when they complete research or technological design projects," he continued.

     The Ohio Academy of Science initiated this educational partnership program in cooperation with The Office of The Governor and The Technology Division of The Ohio Department of Development to recognize schools and teachers who stimulate student scientific and technological research and extend STEM education opportunities beyond traditional classroom activities. The Technology Division of The Ohio Department of Development has supported this program since 1985 by grants to The Ohio Academy of Science.
      Thirty five professionals − broadly representing STEM employers from business and industry, government and academia − evaluated the applications in a blind review process: AEP, Air Force Research Laboratory, Battelle Memorial Institute, Central State University, Chamberlain College of Nursing, Cornell University, DeVry University, Dinsmore & Shohl LLP, eTech Ohio Commission, Heidelberg University, Lake County ESC, Lorain County Community College, National Institutes of Health, Notre Dame College of Ohio, Oberlin College, Ohio Bureau Criminal ID & Investigation, Ohio EPA, Ohio Northern University, Ohio State University, Ohio State University Medical Center, Procter & Gamble Co., State of Ohio, Summa Health System, University of Findlay, US Air Force, US Department of Energy, US Geological Survey, Vehicle Research & Test Center, Yale University and Youngstown State University.